Read every little evil by D.C. Farmer Online

every-little-evil

When the Minister for Internal Affairs goes missing from a house under armed guard, the police are lost for an explanation. But the right honourable MP Sebastian O’Hoy is nowhere to be found. Worse, someone has daubed arcane symbols on his bedroom wall…in dripping blood. With no way in or out, no CCTV evidence of a break in and no body, alive nor dead, the police fear supeWhen the Minister for Internal Affairs goes missing from a house under armed guard, the police are lost for an explanation. But the right honourable MP Sebastian O’Hoy is nowhere to be found. Worse, someone has daubed arcane symbols on his bedroom wall…in dripping blood. With no way in or out, no CCTV evidence of a break in and no body, alive nor dead, the police fear supernatural involvement. It’s time to call in specialist help. For Captain Kylah Porter of the DOF this is a chance to earn her spurs. But she knows she's up against systemic bigotry and cynicism in the shape of her Met counterpart, Sewell. Occult abduction? Or just another murky urban crime? MI5 want answers and soon.This is the first book--prequel--in the Hipposync Archives....

Title : every little evil
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 30317930
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 66 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

every little evil Reviews

  • Amie's Book Reviews
    2019-04-10 18:48

    This book is the first of a series called HIPPOSYNC ENTERPRISES. This novella is a wonderful introduction to the author's world. In the real world (the one us humans inhabit) thr Minister for Internal Affairs, Sebastian O'Hoy (known to the tabloids as SoHo) has disappeared from his highly secure home and seems to have vanished into thin air. "They are certain he did not leave the premises last night, but there is no sign of him this morning ... There were symbols scrawled on the bedroom wall in what appears to be blood..." Because of the strange symbols on the wall, the Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland decides that he needs to call the DOF - The Department of Fimmigration. "The DOF's real function, of course, was to monitor the comings and goings of their own people, those Fae (Homo Elementus) who wanted to try their luck in a world where their own toned-down supernatural skills might be of some use." Captain Kylah Porter is a Fae and she is put in charge of finding the wayward Minister. The local police liason assigned to work with her thinks the DOF is a joke and that the regular police do not need their help. Kylah is sure that the disappearance has something to do with the Fae. To that end, she travels to the hidden realm that most humans do not believe exists. It is a place where "Self-Stacking cutlery, bottomless drinking mugs, stay-warm toilet seats - all were a reality of daily life." What follows is part mystery, part comedy, part thriller and even part love story. All these parts add up to one highly entertaining read. My favorite line in the novella is the author's description of the facade of the building that houses Hipposync Enterprises, Dealers in Rare Books & Manuscripts (which is actually the Headquarters of the DOF). "Its roots were exemplified by ornate signage: a hanging board with more calligraphic curlicues than a Christina Aguilera wig." There is also a character in the story named Mr. Viarga, who "... stood beneath them with a wooden ruler pointing hither and thither." Get it? Viarga - wood? Ha ha! I enjoyed this quick read and it has piqued my interest in the Hipposync Enterprises Series. I am not usually a fan of urban fantasy as it all seems the same to me, but EVERY LITTLE EVIL breaks the mold and creates its own niche genre. I rate this book as 5 out of 5 Stars for pure ingenuity and uniqueness. I am now a fan of author D.C. Farmer.I recommend this book to people who enjoy such reads as Piers Anthony's Xanth series. Plus, the book is FREE, so you have nothing to lose. To read more of my reviews visit my blog at http://AmiesBookReviews.wordpress.com

  • Angela
    2019-03-29 18:24

    Fun readThis is really quite a gem of a book. Loved the characters and works building. Looking forward to reading more!

  • Seregil of Rhiminee
    2019-03-23 11:25

    Originally published at Risingshadow.DC Farmer's Every Little Evil is a wonderful prequel novella to The Hipposync Archives series of humorous urban fantasy novels. It is being offered free for readers, because it's an introduction to the author's series. It's a relatively quick read, which gives readers a sense of what the series is all about.Because there are probably readers out there who are not familiar with The Hipposync Archives, here are a few words about Hipposync Archives:On the banks of the canal in Jericho, Oxford, there's an ordinary-looking commercial property with a sign that says, Hipposync Enterprises, Dealers in Rare Books & Manuscripts. It is the front for the Department of Fimmigration (Fae Immigration). Its function is to monitor the comings and goings of Fae. The owner is Mr Ernest Porter who has help from his young relative, Kylah Porter, and Trained Special Elf Service operatives.Here's a bit of information about the story:The Prime Minister of Great Britain is contacted by MI5, because the Minister of Internal Affairs has disappeared. He seems to have disappeared into thin air, and arcane symbols were scrawled on his bedroom wall in what appears to be blood. They need the help of the Department of Fimmigration in solving the disappearance, because DOF has plenty of expertise on arcane matters. They contact DOF and soon DOF begins to investigate the strange disappearance...This is the beginning of a highly entertaining story that reveals what kind of work DOF does and how they deal with problems. Their investigations are a joy to read due to the author's witty humour and wonderful imagination. The author handles various issues ranging from politics to relationships in a fascinating way.I enjoyed reading about how Kylah investigated the disappearance of the Minister of Internal Affairs, because her investigations were interesting and revealed intriguing things. I liked the way the author wrote about her thoughts, deeds and deduction skills.It was also enjoyable to read about what DC Farmer wrote about the minister's marital life, because the relationship between Sebastian and Sally O'Hoy was mercurial. His way of writing about the O'Hoy relationship was charmingly observant.One of the best things about this story is that DC Farmer has an excellent sense of humour. There's something charmingly British about his humour that I find compelling (if you enjoy witty British humour, you'll most likely enjoy this story very much). As a tiny example of the author's sense of humour, I can mention that zombies are called 'vitally-challenged' in this novella.The author has a keen eye for details and he knows how to keep up the reader's interest in the story. It's great that he keeps the story flowing all the time and doesn't get stuck at any places. He's also capable of maintaining a fine balance between serious issues and humorous elements.DC Farmer's Every Little Evil is fluently written urban fantasy with an emphasis on entertainment and humorous happenings. It's just as good, humorous and entertaining as the novels (The 400lb Gorilla and Frivolous Pursuits), which reveal a lot more about various things related to non-human creatures and races etc.I strongly urge urban fantasy readers to take a look at this free novella, because it's a wonderfully entertaining, humorous and well written piece of urban fantasy fiction. Please, invest a bit of time in reading this novella and treat yourself to an enjoyable story. If you like this novella, don't hesitate to read the novels, because they're addictively good and humorous urban fantasy.Excellent entertainment!

  • Carol
    2019-04-13 13:29

    An obnoxious Government minister vanishes from his own bedroom and strange markings are left on the walls. So the call goes out to the Department of Fimmigration. Just in case he's away with the fairies in more than a figurative sense....Definitely be trying more of this series.Fans of Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London and Charles Stross' Laundry Files will likely enjoy this too.

  • Linda
    2019-04-16 11:43

    I received this book free in return for an honest review.I really enjoyed this story about a sleazy politician that disappeared from a locked room under video surveillance. The characters were a well written mixture of human and fae. It got my attention and kept it through the entire story. It was humorous and a decent mystery at the same time. It is short, but still entertaining.

  • mirba
    2019-04-04 10:33

    Nice story, good dialogues, and a very British setting.

  • Teri Southerland
    2019-04-13 16:35

    HumorousI love this book. The authors sense of humor shines throughout the book. It slightly resembles another book by a piece of furniture.

  • Zippergirl
    2019-03-25 11:48

    A dual world intro to the Department of Fimmigration--investigators of crime and mischief on the border between this world and New Thameswick. Ooky, kooky, spooky, to paraphase a theme song from my childhood.Check it out, this novella is free at DC Farmer's home page and don't miss the missives from Headquarters which just might explain that agouti polecat on Donald Trump's scalp.The books can be read in any order--but start here. Got The Bewildered going now--an ARC from NetGalley. Review soon.

  • Dr susan
    2019-04-16 16:43

    DC Farmer's Hipposync Archives are entertaining, irreverent, and an automatic "buy" for me. Each story is a standalone, although I have no idea why anyone wouldn't want to read all of them.

  • Kirsty
    2019-04-06 11:46

    A great introduction... I am now officially a fan!

  • Alycia
    2019-04-14 17:22

    This tale starts off with a notorious gov't official making a stir again ... and the Prime Minister reels off a list of possible reasons which include swallowing a live fish and being stuck on a zipline in a gale. By the time we got to chapter 2 and I found the fae used "the interweb" to send "eelmails" I was laughing so hard I almost had coffee shoot out my nose. Will definitely have to check out the rest of the series.